Crawl space encapsulation in 2026 runs $3,000 to $15,000, or $2 to $10 per square foot. That is a five-fold spread, and it is not because contractors are chancers. It is because the word “encapsulation” is used to describe three genuinely different jobs.
If you have a $2,800 bid and a $14,000 bid on your desk, you are almost certainly not looking at two prices for one job. Sorting that out is what this guide is for.

The published averages, and why one of them is broken
| Source | Range | Stated average | Per sq ft |
|---|---|---|---|
| Angi (10 Jul 2026) | $5,000–$15,000 | $5,500 | $2–$4 basic; $3–$10 extensive |
| HomeGuide (14 Jan 2026) | $3,000–$15,000 | not stated | $3–$10 |
| Fixr (31 Jan 2025) | $2,000–$15,000 | not stated | $2–$6 |
| This Old House (13 Mar 2026) | $1,500–$15,000 | $5,500 | $3–$10 |
| Forbes Home (16 Sep 2024) | $1,500–$30,000 | $15,750 | $2–$4 |
Forbes is internally inconsistent and should be set aside. It gives an average of $15,750 while giving $2 to $4 per square foot on the same page. A typical 1,500 square foot crawl space at its own $3 average works out to about $4,500, not $15,750. Both numbers cannot be right, and it is also the stalest source on the list.
The $5,500 average appears verbatim on Angi, This Old House and several aggregators. That is not four-source corroboration. This Old House does not disclose independent data, and at least one of the sites carrying that figure is a lead-generation operation with no stated methodology at all — it exists to route you to three contractors and recruits contractors on the same site.
It is also worth knowing that Angi, HomeAdvisor and HomeGuide are contractor-network businesses whose cost data comes substantially from jobs booked through their own lead flow. Three of them agreeing is closer to one source with three URLs than to independent corroboration.
The three tiers, priced separately
This is the section that will save you money. Get every bidder to say which of these they are quoting.
Tier 1 — vapour barrier only, still vented: roughly $1,200 to $4,000
Loose or minimally sealed poly over the dirt floor. Vents stay open. This is not encapsulation and does not meet the unvented code path. What it does do is legitimate: under IRC R408.2, laying a Class I ground vapour retarder cuts the required ventilation area from 1 square foot per 150 of floor area to 1 per 1,500 — a 90 per cent reduction.
Tier 2 — sealed and conditioned, no dehumidifier: roughly $4,000 to $9,000
Liner run up the walls and sealed, vents sealed, rim joist and wall insulation, access door sealed, and the code-required drying supplied as conditioned air from your existing HVAC rather than a standalone dehumidifier. This is a fully legitimate compliance path and it is the tier most homeowners have never been offered.
Tier 3 — full encapsulation with dehumidifier: roughly $7,000 to $15,000+
Everything above plus a dedicated crawl space dehumidifier, and commonly interior drainage and a sump pump.
These figures are constructed from the verified line items below applied to a 1,500 square foot crawl space, not quoted from a single source. Treat them as a way to read a bid, not as a quote.
Line items
| Vapour barrier thickness | Material cost per sq ft |
|---|---|
| 6 mil | $0.30–$0.35 |
| 8 mil | $0.35–$0.40 |
| 10 mil | $0.40–$0.50 |
| 12 mil | $0.50–$0.60 |
| 20 mil | $0.60–$0.70 |
A correction worth making: HomeGuide, Angi and This Old House all write “mm” where they mean “mil.” A mil is one thousandth of an inch; 20 mil is about half a millimetre. “4mm plastic” as one of them lists it would be a slab. Use mil.
And a point about what you are actually buying with thickness: the code requires a Class I vapour retarder, not a specific gauge, and the Department of Energy specifies 6 mil polyethylene as the minimum. Going to 12 or 20 mil roughly doubles the material cost. You are buying puncture resistance for crawling on, not better vapour performance.
| Item | Cost |
|---|---|
| Sealing vents and holes | $150–$450 |
| Access door sealing | +$60–$150 |
| Rim joist / wall closed-cell spray foam | $2.00–$5.00/sq ft |
| Wall rigid foam | $1.20–$3.70/sq ft |
| Subfloor batt insulation | $0.90–$1.40/sq ft |
| Old insulation removal | $1–$2/sq ft |
| Dehumidifier installed | $1,000–$3,000 |
| Interior drainage system | $800–$3,000 |
| Sump pump unit | $60–$400 |
| Mold remediation | $500–$4,000 |
| Structural repair | $1,000–$16,000 |
| Permits | $50–$250 |
| Inspection | $100–$250 |
Labour is 50 to 70 per cent of the total — the one figure all four sources agree on.
Note the two widest spreads: structural repair (capped at $7,500 by Fixr and $16,000 by Angi) and mold remediation. These are precisely the two items that get added after a free inspection. More on that below.
The building science, and what the code actually requires
IRC R408.1 lets a crawl space comply with either R408.2 (ventilated) or R408.3 (unvented). Both are legal. Encapsulation is not required by code anywhere.
If you take the unvented route, R408.3 requires a continuous Class I vapour retarder over all exposed earth, joints lapped a minimum of 6 inches, seams sealed or taped, and edges extending at least 6 inches up the stem wall and sealed. Plus one of four conditioning options:
- Continuously operated mechanical exhaust at 1 cfm per 50 square feet of under-floor area
- Conditioned air supply at 1 cfm per 50 square feet
- Plenum use, in existing structures only
- Dehumidification sized per manufacturer specification
Read that list again. The dehumidifier is option four of four. A contractor presenting one as mandatory for code compliance is wrong. Conditioned supply air off your existing HVAC is a legitimate path that costs roughly half as much — ductwork at $450 to $2,000 against $1,000 to $3,000 for a dehumidifier installed.
Why vents fail in humid climates
The original theory behind crawl space vents was that outdoor air dries the space. In humid climates that is backwards: outdoor air is frequently wetter than the crawl space air, so ventilating adds moisture rather than removing it. The Department of Energy credits this research with driving the code changes that permitted unvented crawl spaces in the first place.
Building Science Corporation locates the failure mechanism more precisely, and it is not the vents at all — it is the floor insulation. Fibreglass batts between the joists hold the underside of the floor within a degree or two of ground temperature, below the dew point of incoming humid air, so moisture condenses directly on the framing. The relevant thresholds for wood are below 19 per cent moisture content to prevent rot and below 16 per cent to prevent mold.
The recommendation that follows is to build the crawl space as a mini-basement: dry, warm, part of the house rather than part of the outside or part of the ground. Either foil-faced rigid insulation or closed-cell spray foam at 2 pounds per cubic foot and a minimum of three inches.
Where it makes sense, by climate
| Climate | Verdict |
|---|---|
| Zones 1–3 and 4A — hot-humid and mixed-humid Southeast, Gulf, Mid-Atlantic | Strongest case. This is where ventilation air is wetter than the crawl space for much of the year. Zones 1–2 need no wall insulation at all under IECC. |
| Zones 4–6 — mixed and cold | Defensible, energy-led. Wall insulation of R-10/13 to R-15/19 is required and does real work. Moisture risk is lower. |
| Dry B zones — Southwest, Mountain West | Frequently oversold. Ventilation air is dry, so the central premise does not hold. This is an air-sealing measure here, not a mold measure. |
| Elevated pier construction and flood zones | Do not encapsulate. A genuinely vented crawl space may be necessary in a flood zone. |
There is a blunter conclusion in the building science literature that contractor sites tend to omit: the best crawl space of all is filled with concrete and called a slab, or dug out and called a basement.
Will it lower your energy bill? Tracing the “up to 18%”
The number is real. The way it is used is not.
It traces to a genuine, Department of Energy funded, controlled field study. In Princeville, North Carolina, beginning in 2001, twelve homes were built on the same street — six on wall-vented crawl spaces and six on closed crawl spaces. The measured result: homes on closed crawl spaces saved up to 15 per cent on annual energy used for heating and cooling. Later work extended this to Flagstaff, Arizona and Baton Rouge, Louisiana with modelled projections of 18 per cent heating reduction in the cold-climate site.
That is a real experiment and it deserves respect. Here is what gets left out when it reaches a sales pitch:
- These were newly built production homes, not retrofits. A retrofit of an existing house with existing ducts, insulation and air leakage is a different intervention with a different payback. We found no study measuring 15 to 18 per cent on a retrofit. This is the biggest gap in the literature and nobody mentions it.
- It is a percentage of heating and cooling only, not of your whole utility bill. On a total bill it is considerably smaller.
- The headline sample is twelve homes on one street in eastern North Carolina, measured 2001 to 2005.
- The figure has been rounded upward in transit. The researchers say “up to 15 per cent.” DOE’s summary page says “15 to 18 per cent.” Contractors then quote “up to 18 per cent” as typical. The 18 is a modelled cold-climate heating projection from Flagstaff, not the measured North Carolina result.
The other number, which is being misapplied outright
Many contractor pages attribute “15 per cent savings” to the EPA. ENERGY STAR does publish that figure — an average of 15 per cent on heating and cooling costs, or 11 per cent on total energy costs. But it is for a whole-house package of air sealing and insulation covering attics, floors over crawl spaces and accessible basement rim joists, plus sealing leaks to the attic, through the foundation and around windows and doors. It is also modelled rather than measured, and ENERGY STAR itself gives actual savings as 5 to 16 per cent by climate zone.
Applying a whole-house attic-and-walls number to a crawl-space-only job is the most common misuse of data in this industry.
Numbers that trace nowhere at all
- “Up to 17.7 per cent.” Sits in the headline of one widely-shared page and appears nowhere in its own body text, footnotes or references. Fabricated precision.
- “10 to 30 per cent.” Stated by HomeGuide with no citation. The 30 per cent ceiling exceeds every measured study we found.
- “$200 to $600 per year,” attributed to DOE. Found on a site calling itself an “energy institute” which turns out to be a marketing company working with a foundation repair contractor. No link, no study.
- “Recovery within 7 to 10 years.” No supporting calculation given anywhere.
The health claims: what holds up
Humidity control is the strongest and best-documented benefit. In the Princeville measurements, wall-vented crawl spaces exceeded 80 per cent relative humidity for the majority of spring and summer, while closed crawl spaces stayed below 65 per cent over the same period. In one summer the outside dew point exceeded 70°F for 72 per cent of the season. That is measured field data, not modelling.
Mold and rot prevention follows directly from it, given the 19 and 16 per cent wood moisture thresholds.
Termites — and a spec to check on your bid. The research specification calls for a 3-inch termite inspection gap at the top of the wall, meaning the liner stops short of the sill so inspectors can see the wood. A liner run all the way up can conceal termite tubes and may void your termite bond. Ask about this explicitly.
Combustion safety — a real risk that is rarely disclosed. The Department of Energy warns against low-efficiency heating equipment drawing combustion air from a sealed crawl space, recommending direct-vent sealed-combustion furnaces or heat pumps instead. Sealing a crawl space containing an atmospherically-vented furnace or water heater can cause backdrafting. If nobody raises this with you, they are not doing building science.
Radon: test, do not assume
DOE says plainly that a radon venting system should be installed under the vapour barrier — the liner becomes the membrane component of a sub-membrane depressurisation system. That means encapsulation is the natural moment to add the vent pipe, because retrofitting it afterwards means cutting the liner you just paid for.
What we could not verify from an EPA source is whether encapsulation alone raises or lowers radon. So we are not going to claim either. Test before and test after. That is the only way to know.
What does not hold up
- “Eliminates allergens” and blanket indoor-air-quality claims. The commonly cited figure that up to 50 per cent of the air you breathe upstairs comes from the crawl space traces to nothing we could find.
- Any claim about curing allergies or asthma.
- “Prevents structural damage.” Encapsulation controls humidity. It does not address bulk water, grading or gutters, which are listed as separate prerequisites in the research.
What it costs to keep
| Item | Cost | Frequency |
|---|---|---|
| Routine inspection | $100–$300 | periodic |
| Mold inspection | $150–$300 | as needed |
| Pest control | $300–$550 | annually |
| Crawl space cleaning | $150–$300 | every few years |
| Drainage system repair | $500–$800 | every 5–10 years |
On dehumidifier running costs, we are going to disappoint you deliberately. No source we checked publishes a verified annual consumption figure for a crawl space dehumidifier, because runtime depends entirely on climate, liner quality and setpoint. ENERGY STAR publishes efficiency thresholds but not annual consumption for this application. Anyone quoting you a dollar-per-year operating cost is estimating, and should say so.
What we can tell you: US average residential electricity is 16.48 cents per kWh, with Southeast states running below that — Tennessee at 12.42, Georgia at 14.08, North Carolina at 14.13. And a well-sealed Tier 3 space should run its dehumidifier less than a poorly sealed one, so operating cost is partly a function of installation quality.
Barrier lifespan we also could not verify from any testing-based source. One telling signal: at least one contractor warrants its encapsulation work for 25 years while warranting piers and drainage for the life of the structure. A contractor’s own differentiated terms are the most honest indication available that the liner is not a permanent product.
What “lifetime warranty” actually means
The most candid source on this is a contractor’s own explainer, which states that from a legal standpoint there is no absolute definition specifying how long a lifetime warranty must last. It can mean the product’s operational life, as long as the company stays in business, or as long as you are the first owner. Service warranties are not federally regulated the way product warranties are, and franchise ownership changes can void warranties.
Get five things in writing:
- Whose lifetime — yours, the company’s, or the structure’s?
- Does it transfer on sale, and for what fee? Many charge one or void it outright.
- Does it require a paid annual inspection to stay valid?
- Does it cover labour, or only materials?
- What happens if the franchise changes hands?
Red flags
- The free inspection is a sales call. The company that inspects for free and then quotes the repair has a direct interest in finding problems — and the two widest-spread line items in this whole guide, structural repair and mold remediation, are exactly what a free inspection discovers. Get a paid, independent assessment from a licensed engineer who does not do the repairs before authorising structural work.
- “Code requires a dehumidifier.” False. It is one of four options, and conditioned supply air costs about half as much.
- Non-transferable or self-voiding warranties. See above.
- A liner run to the top of the wall with no termite gap. Three inches, so inspectors can see the wood.
- No combustion-safety check when there is an atmospherically-vented appliance down there.
- No radon plan. The vent pipe goes under the barrier, which means before, not after.
- Financing markups. Contractor-arranged “0% financing” is frequently priced into the job. Ask for the cash price and the financed price separately.
- Energy savings quoted as a promise. Anyone promising 18 per cent or $400 a year is quoting a modelled figure from a twelve-home new-construction study and applying it to your retrofit. Ask them to name the source.
- Bids that are not comparable. Make every bid specify liner thickness, whether vents are sealed, whether walls and rim joists are insulated and to what R-value, and which of the four conditioning options is being used.
Questions people actually ask
Is encapsulation required by code?
No. IRC R408.1 lets you comply with either the ventilated or the unvented path. Both are legal.
Do I have to close my vents?
Only if you go unvented. If you stay vented and lay a Class I ground vapour retarder, the required vent area drops by 90 per cent — from 1 square foot per 150 to 1 per 1,500.
What thickness liner do I need?
The code requires a Class I vapour retarder, not a gauge. DOE specifies 6 mil polyethylene as the minimum, lapped 12 inches, sealed with adhesive and tape, running up the wall to within 4 inches of the top. Thicker liners cost roughly double in material and buy puncture resistance, not vapour performance.
Do I need a dehumidifier?
Not per code. Conditioned supply air or continuous exhaust at 1 cfm per 50 square feet also comply, and cost less. A dehumidifier is often the right choice in the humid Southeast. It is a legal requirement nowhere.
Will it lower my energy bill?
Somewhat, but less than advertised. The credible measured figure is up to 15 per cent of heating and cooling costs, from a controlled study of twelve newly built homes. No study we could find measured savings on a retrofit.
Why is one bid $3,000 and another $13,000?
Almost always because they are different jobs. Liner only in a still-vented space is $1,200 to $4,000. Sealed and insulated with vents closed is $4,000 to $9,000. Add a dehumidifier, drainage and a sump and you are at $7,000 to $15,000. Make every bidder state the tier.
Will this fix my radon?
Unknown without testing. Get the vent pipe installed under the barrier during the work, and test before and after.
I have a gas furnace down there. Any concern?
Yes, a real one. Raise combustion air supply before you seal anything.
What we could not verify
- A reliable national average. The $5,500 figure is not independently corroborated and at least one site carrying it is a methodology-free lead-generation operation.
- Forbes Home’s $15,750 average — contradicted by its own per-square-foot figure on the same page.
- Any measured energy savings for a retrofit. Every credible figure comes from new construction. This is the largest gap in the literature.
- Dehumidifier annual consumption and running cost.
- Vapour barrier service life from any testing-based source.
- EPA’s specific position on crawl space radon. Three EPA URLs returned errors. The radon guidance here comes from DOE Building America, which is a legitimate building-science source but is not EPA.
- State-by-state or city-by-city pricing. Only available from a lead-generation site with no methodology.
- Verbatim IRC R408.3 text from the ICC itself, which is paywalled. The requirements here come from an inspection-industry guide corroborated independently by DOE on the key numbers.
The short version
- Ask every bidder which tier they are quoting. Liner only, sealed and conditioned, or full encapsulation with a dehumidifier. This single question explains most of the price gap.
- The dehumidifier is optional under code — one of four conditioning routes, and conditioned supply air costs about half as much.
- 6 mil is the code-referenced minimum. Thicker buys durability, not performance.
- The energy savings case is real but overstated, and has never been measured on a retrofit.
- Check for the 3-inch termite gap and raise combustion safety and radon before work starts.
- In dry climates, be sceptical. The moisture argument does not apply in Phoenix or Denver.
- Read the warranty for transferability. “Lifetime” has no legal definition.
1 thought on “Crawl Space Encapsulation Cost in 2026: Why Bids Vary Fivefold”